Go Bears!
GO Bears!
Go Bears!
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Lady Bears Announce Hoops Schedule

Senior Sophia Young is one of three starters returning for 2005-06 for the Lady Bears.

Senior Sophia Young is one of three starters returning for 2005-06 for the Lady Bears.

Aug. 16, 2005

WACO, Texas - The Baylor Lady Bear basketball team, defending NCAA and Big 12 Conference champions, have put together a highly competitive 2005-06 schedule, head coach Kim Mulkey-Robertson announced today.

"I think we have put together a good schedule this season, one that will prepare us for the rigors of Big 12 conference play. With our fans in mind, we have assembled a non-conference home schedule which includes Pac-10 opponents UCLA and Washington and Texas A&M-Corpus Christi who was 23-7 last season," said Mulkey-Robertson. "In additon, I hope that our fans will be on hand in Lubbock when we open our season against perennial power Georgia in the State Farm Hall of Fame Tip Off Classic."

The 27-game schedule features 14 contests versus teams that qualified for postseason play in 2004-05. Seven (Georgia, Iowa State, Kansas State, LSU, Oklahoma, Texas, Texas Tech) of the 10 teams on the Lady Bears' upcoming schedule participated in last year's NCAA Tournament while three (Nebraska, Texas A&M, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi) saw action in the Women's NIT.

After exhibition contests versus Arkansas-Monticello, a NCAA Divison II opponent, and the Houston Jaguars, the Lady Bears will play six games over a 14-day span. After opening the regular season playing in the State Farm Hall of Fame Tip Off Classic (Nov. 13) for the second straight season, taking on the University of Georgia, Baylor will play three games in a five day stretch including back-to-back games home and away. Baylor will host a UCLA squad that returns five starters (Nov. 18) and turn around and play at Indiana on Nov. 19 followed by a home game versus Texas A&M-Corpus Christi (Nov. 22). The Lady Bears will close out the month of November in Cancun, Mexico (Nov. 26 & 27) when they take on California and Marshall, respectively, in the eight-team Caribbean Classic. December is relatively light with just four games on the schedule, three of which are home contests. Baylor will host Washington (Dec. 2) which also returns five starters and McNeese State (Dec. 13) before traveling to New York state to tangle with Army (Dec. 17). After a break for the Christmas holidays, Sam Houston State will travel to Waco for a Dec. 29 matchup with the Lady Bears. One more non-conference game is slated for Baylor, a road matchup against LSU on Jan. 30.

January boasts five Ferrell Center home games with showdowns against Texas (Jan. 7), Oklahoma State (Jan. 11) , Texas A&M (Jan. 18), Oklahoma (Jan. 21) and Kansas (Jan. 28) and road games at Missouri (Jan. 4), Texas Tech (Jan. 15) and Iowa State (Jan. 25). During the month of February, the Lady Bears will tangle with Nebraska (Feb. 8), Texas Tech (Feb. 19) and Colorado (Feb. 22) in the Ferrell Center among road trips at Oklahoma State (Feb. 4), Oklahoma (Feb. 12), Texas A&M (Feb. 15) and Kansas State (Feb. 25). Baylor closes out the Big 12 regular season with a road game against Texas on March 1.

The Big 12 Tournament is slated for March 7-9 and 11 at Dallas' Reunion Arena.

Baylor returns three starters off last season's NCAA and Big 12 championship squad, including All-American Sophia Young, a National and Big 12 Player of the Year candidate.

Ticket prices for this season's 13 (8 Big 12, 5 non-conference) home women's basketball games are:

Season
Court Side/Center Court - $150.00
Mezzanine - $135.00
Upper Center Court - $135.00
All Other Reserved - $125.00
Senior Citizen Reserved - $110.00 (60 or over)
Youth Reserved - $110.00 (under age 18)

Individual
Court Side/Center Court - $20.00
Mezzanine - $15.00
Upper Center Court - $12.00
Reserved - $10.00
Youth - $6.00

For more women's basketball information please visit: www.BaylorBears.com. Tickets may be purchased by calling the Baylor Athletic Ticket Office at 1-800-BAYLORU.

All dates are tentative and subject to change. Game times will be released once television packages are announced.

Nov. 7 (Mon) Arkansas-Monticello (EXH.)
Nov. 10 (Thu) Houston Jaguars (EXH.)
Nov. 13 (Sun) vs. Georgia !
Nov. 18 (Fri) UCLA
Nov. 19 (Sat) at Indiana
Nov. 22 (Tue) Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Nov. 26 (Sat) vs. California #
Nov. 27 (Sun) vs. Marshall #
Dec. 2 (Fri) Washington
Dec. 13 (Tue) McNeese State
Dec. 17 (Sat) at Army
Dec. 29 (Thu) Sam Houston State
Jan. 4 (Wed) at Missouri*
Jan. 7 (Sat) Texas*
Jan. 11 (Wed) Oklahoma State*
Jan. 15 (Sun) at Texas Tech*
Jan. 18 (Wed) Texas A&M*
Jan. 21 (Sat) Oklahoma*
Jan. 25 (Wed) at Iowa State*
Jan. 28 (Sat) Kansas*
Jan. 30 (Mon) at LSU
Feb. 4 (Sat) at Oklahoma State*
Feb. 8 (Wed) Nebraska*
Feb. 12 (Sun) at Oklahoma*
Feb. 15 (Wed) at Texas A&M*
Feb. 19 (Sun) Texas Tech*
Feb. 22 (Wed) Colorado*
Feb. 25 (Sat) at Kansas State*
March 1 (Wed) at Texas*
March 7-9, 11 Big 12 Tournament

! - State Farm Hall of Fame Tip Off Classic - Lubbock, Texas
# - Caribbean Classic - Cancun, Mexico
* Big 12 Conference contest
Big 12 Tournament - Reunion Arena - Dallas, Texas

 

 

   Shop Now at the Official Online Store