Skip to main content Skip to footer
Odyssey Sims Named to Wade Watch List

Odyssey Sims is named to the Wade Watch list for the third time.

Oct. 8, 2013

WACO, Texas - Baylor senior guard Odyssey Sims is one of 25 players named to the 2013-14 preseason "Wade Watch" list of candidates for the prestigious award, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

The selection marks the third straight season that Sims is included on the preseason "Wade Watch" list. She was a finalist for the award in 2013. Former Baylor standout Brittney Griner won the past two Wade Trophies.

Sims, a returning two-time WBCA Coaches' All-American and 2013-14 Preseason Big 12 Player of the Year, averaged 12.9 points, 5.3 assists per game as a junior while shooting 47.7 percent from the perimeter and 83.2 percent from the free throw line. Last season, the Irving, Texas, native ranked No. 2 nationally in assist/turnover ratio with a mark of 2.7 while checking in at No. 25 in assists and No. 36 in steals (2.8). Sims recently returned from the USA Women's National Team mini-camp and this past summer earned her second World University Games gold medal while receiving the tournament's co-MVP honor. By earning her second championship, Sims became the first women's basketball two-time gold medalist for the USA at the World University Games.

Now in its 37th year, The Wade Trophy is named in honor of the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade.

Regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball," the award is presented annually to the NCAA Division I Player of the Year by the National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) and the WBCA.

The preseason list is composed of top NCAA Division I women's basketball players who best embody Wade's spirit from 18 different institutions and seven conferences. A committee of coaches, administrators and media from across the United States compiled the list using the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team, and overall playing ability.



Complete list of preseason candidates for the 2014 Wade Trophy in alphabetical order:
Natalie Achonwa-Notre Dame-Forward-Senior
Rachel Banham-Minnesota-Guard-Junior
Brittany Boyd-California-Guard-Junior
Gennifer Brandon-California-Forward-Senior
Jerica Coley-FIU-Guard-Senior
Stefanie Dolson-Connecticut-Center-Senior
Aaryn Ellenberg-Oklahoma-Guard-Senior
Bashaara Graves-Tennessee-Forward-Sophomore
Chelsea Gray-Duke-Guard-Senior
Bria Hartley-Connecticut-Guard-Senior
Jordan Hooper-Nebraska-Forward-Senior
Maggie Lucas-Penn State-Guard-Senior
Tyaunna Marshall-Georgia Tech-Guard-Senior
Kayla McBride-Notre Dame-Guard-Senior
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis-Connecticut-Forward-Junior
Chiney Ogwumike-Stanford-Forward-Senior
Theresa Plaisance-LSU-Forward-Senior
Ebony Rowe-Middle Tennessee-Forward-Senior
Shoni Schimmel-Louisville-Guard-Senior
Meighan Simmons-Tennessee-Guard-Senior
Odyssey Sims-Baylor-Guard-Senior
DeNesha Stallworth-Kentucky-Forward-Senior
Breanna Stewart-Connecticut-Forward-Sophomore
Alyssa Thomas-Maryland-Forward-Senior
Elizabeth Williams-Duke-Center/Forward-Junior

Online Store