Skip to main content Skip to footer
WBB Tabbed Preseason Big 12 Favorite

Head coach Kim Mulkey's Lady Bears are the preseason favorite as selected by the league's coaches.

Oct. 10, 2012

IRVING, Texas - Baylor was selected as the preseason favorite for the fourth consecutive year and fifth time in Conference history to win the 2012-13 Big 12 women's basketball regular season title, in a vote of the league's head coaches.

The Lady Bears received nine of 10 first-place votes (coaches cannot vote for their own team) after capturing both the Big 12 regular season and postseason titles a year ago. Oklahoma and West Virginia tied for second, followed by Kansas in fourth and Texas fifth. The remaining places were: 6. Iowa State, 7. Oklahoma State, 8. Texas Tech, 9. K-State and 10. TCU.

The Big 12 has produced the last two national champions with Baylor capturing the title in 2012 behind the nation's first 40-0 record. Oklahoma State completed a postseason title sweep for the Big 12 by winning the WNIT. Iowa State, Kansas, K-State, Oklahoma, Texas and new Conference member West Virginia were also NCAA Tournament teams in 2012.

The Big 12 has ranked No. 1 in conference RPI for the past five seasons and has led the nation in attendance 13 consecutive years.

Head coaches and select student-athletes will convene in Dallas on Oct. 25 for the annual Big 12 Women's Basketball Media Day. The American Airlines Center will serve as the host for the 2013 Phillips 66 Big 12 Women's Basketball Championship March 8-11. The Big 12 Digital Network will provide live coverage of Media Day on in addition to extensive coverage on the Conference's official social media platforms.

2012-13 Big 12 Conference Women's Basketball Poll
1. Baylor (9) - 81 votes

2. Oklahoma - 65 votes and West Virginia (1) - 65 votes
4. Kansas - 58 votes
5. Texas - 46 votes
6. Iowa State - 42 votes
7. Oklahoma State - 39 votes
8. Texas Tech - 25 votes
9. Kansas State - 20 votes
10. TCU - 9 votes

Preseason Poll History
Season:Preseason Selection-Big 12 Champion

1996-97: Poll Not Conducted-Kansas
1997-98: Texas Tech-Texas Tech
1998-99: Kansas-Texas Tech
1999-00: Iowa State-Iowa State, Texas Tech, Oklahoma
2000-0: Iowa State-Oklahoma
2001-02: Oklahoma-Oklahoma
2002-03: Texas Tech-Texas
2003-04: Texas-Texas, Kansas State
2004-05: Texas-Baylor
2005-06: Baylor-Oklahoma
2006-07: Oklahoma-Texas A&M, Oklahoma
2007-08: Texas A&M-K-State
2008-09: Oklahoma-Oklahoma
2009-10: Baylor-Nebraska
2010-11: Baylor-Baylor
2011-12: Baylor-Baylor



Online Store