Skip to main content Skip to footer
Women's Basketball Tabbed to Win League

Brittney Griner returns for her junior season to lead the Lady Bears.

Oct. 12, 2011

IRVING, Texas - Baylor was selected as the preseason favorite for the third consecutive year and fourth time in Conference history to win the 2011-12 Big 12 women's basketball regular season title, in a vote of the league's head coaches.

The Lady Bears received all of the possible nine first-place votes (coaches cannot vote for their own team) after capturing both the Big 12 regular season and postseason titles a year ago. Texas A&M, last season's national champion, was picked second and nabbed the other first-place vote. Just two points separated the next two spots as Texas was chosen third, followed by Oklahoma in fourth. Iowa State rounded out the top five. The remaining selections were Texas Tech in sixth, Kansas seventh, Oklahoma State eighth, Kansas State ninth and Missouri 10th.

Ten Big 12 squads competed in 2011 postseason play with seven in the NCAA Women's Basketball Championship. Baylor and Oklahoma joined Texas A&M in the Sweet 16. Since its inception in 1996-97, the Big 12 is the only conference with national championships by two different teams (Baylor/2005 and Texas A&M/2011). The Big 12 is also the only league with four members that have won national titles (Texas/1986, Texas Tech/1993, Baylor/2005 and Texas A&M/2011).

Twenty of 30 leading scorers and 11 of 15 top rebounders return to the Big 12 this season. Brittney Griner (Baylor) led the Conference in scoring last year with 23.0 ppg while Toni Young (Oklahoma State) topped the league in rebounds with 9.1 rpg. The 2011-12 regular season gets underway on Friday, Nov. 11.

Head coaches and select student-athletes will convene in Kansas City on Oct. 19 for the annual Big 12 Women's Basketball Media Day. Kansas City's Municipal Auditorium will serve as the site of the 2012 Phillips 66 Big 12 Women's Basketball Championship March 7-10.

2011-12 Women's Basketball Preseason Poll
1. Baylor (9) - 81
2. Texas A&M (1) - 73
3. Texas - 60
4. Oklahoma - 58
5. Iowa State - 43
6. Texas Tech - 37
7. Kansas - 35
8. Oklahoma State - 30
9. Kansas State - 23
10. Missouri - 10



Online Store