Skip to 15 top headlines (New Page)

Women's Basketball

Lady Bear Hoops Picked Fourth By Coaches

Point guard Angela Tisdale is one of two BU starters returning this season.

Point guard Angela Tisdale is one of two BU starters returning this season.

Oct. 17, 2006

WACO, Texas - The Baylor Lady Bears were picked to finish fourth while the defending conference champion Oklahoma was picked to win its second consecutive and fifth overall Big 12 Conference women's basketball title in the 2006-07 preseason poll voted on by the league's head coaches. The Sooners received all 11 possible first place votes for a total of 121 points. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own team.

Texas A&M was selected second (107 points), followed by Texas in third (101 points), Baylor fourth (94 points) and Iowa State fifth (68 points). Rounding out the poll were Nebraska (sixth, 66 points), Kansas State (tie seventh, 57 points), Texas Tech (tie seventh, 57 points), Missouri (ninth, 43 points), Kansas (10th, 36 points), Colorado (11th, 26 points) and Oklahoma State (12th, 16 points).

Oklahoma and Texas A&M each return five starters off last season's squads while Iowa State and Kansas State both have four starters back. Everyone else in the league except Baylor and Oklahoma State return three starters, the Lady Bears (Angela Tisdale, Jessica Morrow) and the Cowgirls each return two.

Baylor and Oklahoma advanced to the NCAA Sweet 16 in 2005-06 and were joined in the NCAA Tournament by Texas A&M and Missouri. Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State and Nebraska competed in the WNIT with Kansas State winning the championship in front of a sell-out crowd in Bramlage Coliseum.

2006-07 Big 12 Conference Women's Basketball Preseason Poll
1. Oklahoma (11) 121
2. Texas A&M (1) 107
3. Texas 101
4. Baylor 94
5. Iowa State 68
6. Nebraska 66
7. Kansas State 57
7. Texas Tech 57
9. Missouri 43
10. Kansas 36
11. Colorado 26
12. Oklahoma State 16

(first place votes in parentheses; coaches not allowed to vote for their own team)

Preseason Poll History
Season Preseason Selection / Big 12 Champion

1996-97 - Poll Not Conducted / Kansas
1997-98 - Texas Tech / Texas Tech
1998-99 - Kansas / Texas Tech
1999-00 - Iowa State / Iowa State, Texas Tech, Oklahoma
2000-01 - Iowa State / Oklahoma
2001-02 - Oklahoma / Oklahoma
2002-03 - Texas Tech / Texas
2003-04 - Texas / Texas, Kansas State
2004-05 - Texas / Baylor
2005-06 - Baylor/ Oklahoma



Summer Grind GoPro Style [2016]
Women's Basketball | 09/07/2016
Kim Mulkey Gives Back to Hometown
Women's Basketball | 08/26/2016
Lauren Cox on USA Basketball
Women's Basketball | 07/22/2016
Kim Mulkey on Pat Summitt
Women's Basketball | 06/28/2016
Online Store
Baylor Bears
Official Online Store