Skip to main content Skip to footer
WBB's Griner a Unanimous AP All-America Pick

Brittney Griner is Baylor's first two-time AP preseason All-America selection.

Nov. 1, 2011

WACO, Texas - Junior Brittney Griner was a unanimous selection to the Associated Press' 2011-12 women's basketball preseason All-America team it was announced today. After being honored last season, Griner, a 6-8 post, becomes Baylor's first two-time AP preseason All-America selection, Sophia Young was a 2005 pick.

In addition, Griner became the eighth player to be a unanimous choice on The Associated Press' women's basketball preseason All-America team, receiving all 40 votes from a national media panel. The only other unanimous selections were Maya Moore (twice), Courtney Paris, Chamique Holdsclaw, Diana Taurasi, Alana Beard, Seimone Augustus and Candace Parker.

So far this season Griner has been named to four preseason All-America squads including The Associated Press, Sporting News and Athlon. She is also on the Wooden Award and Wade Trophy watch lists and was named the Big 12 Conference's Preseason Player of the Year.

AP Preseason All-America Team
Brittney Griner, Baylor, 6-8, junior, post, 40 votes
Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame, 5-9, junior, guard, 37 votes
Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Stanford, 6-2, senior, forward, 37 votes
Shenise Johnson, Miami, 5-11, senior, guard, 25 votes
Shekinna Stricklen, Tennessee, 6-2, senior, guard/forward, 21 votes

"Brittney has put on 20 more pounds and it will help her over the course of the season," Baylor coach Kim Mulkey said. "The international experience representing the USA in Europe will help her game. She's more mature and more polished."

The Lady Bear team is No. 1 in the preseason AP Top 25 poll. After reaching the Final Four Griner's freshman, season, Baylor's loss in the regional final last season to eventual champion Texas A&M, falling short in the NCAA tournament has stuck with her.

"Individual honors are nice, but what's most important to me is to help my team achieve its goals," Griner said.



Griner was the only returning member of the postseason All-America team. Ogwumike earned second-team honors while Diggins, Johnson and Stricklen were on the third team.

Online Store