Skip to main content Skip to footer
Equestrian Earns Conference Academic Accolades

March 27, 2012

IRVING, Texas - The Baylor equestrian team had 18 student-athletes selected to the 2012 Academic All-Big 12 team, the league office announced Tuesday. The Bears tied for the most in the league with Texas A&M.

Named to the first-team was Barbara Aitken (Jr., Professional Writing), Malanie Appel (Jr., Marketing/Finance), Katie Berg (So., International Studies), Blair Bergeson (Sr., Chemistry/Pre-Pharmacy), Brooke Biddle (Sr., Management), Taylor Brown (Jr., Anthropology), Madison Clark (Sr., Nutrition), Kaylin Enright (Sr., Child and Family Studies), Kara Fergusson (Sr., Management/Entrepreneurship), Lisa Goldman (Sr., Entrepreneurship/Finance), Bryn Lindley (So., Chemistry), Ashley McGehee (So., Elementary Education), Meghan Murphy (Sr., Communications), Ellis Powell (Sr., Biology), Olivia Rogers (Jr., Sports, Sponsorship and Sales), Andrea Schweiker (Sr., International Studies) and Kim Woodsum (Sr., Math).

Suzanna Nelson (Sr., Journalism) earned second-team honors.

Forty-seven of the 52 members earned first team accolades, while the second team is comprised of five individuals. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.



To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests.

Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

Online Store