Skip to main content Skip to footer
Equestrian Begins National Championship Quest

The Western squad opens as the No. 7 seed.

2012 Championship Central

WACO, Texas - For the sixth straight season Baylor and Waco will host the National Collegiate Equestrian Championship Championship (NCEA) at the Extraco Events Center. The 11th annual championships will begin on Thursday, April 12 and continue through Saturday, April 14. The event is open and admission is free to the public.

The Bears, who finished third in 2011, will be the No. 4 seed in he hunter seat and take on the winner of SMU and Tennessee-Martin in the opening round. On the western side, BU opens as the No. 7 seed, facing off against TCU.

"Baylor University and Waco are very happy to be hosting the NCEA Championship," head coach Ellen White said. "I think this team is refocused and eager to showcase against the best in the country and show the local community what we are capable of."

NCEA is divided into two areas: Hunter Seat and Western. Auburn University claimed the overall and hunter seat championship in 2011, while Texas A&M won the western championship.

Each of the two divisions has a 12-team seeded bracket similar to that of the NCAA basketball championships. Teams are seeded from one through 12 and placed accordingly into the bracket. Auburn is ranked No. 1 in the hunter seat bracket for the second-straight season while Texas A&M is the top ranked in the western bracket for the fourth-straight season.

The NCEA Championship will begin on Thursday at 8:30 a.m. and continue through Saturday with the Crowning of Champions at 5:30 p.m.



Online Store