Skip to main content Skip to footer
EQ's Demel to Compete in AQHA Challenge
Nov. 9, 2017

WACO, Texas – Baylor equestrian junior western rider Abbi Demel is one of 16 collegiate riders chosen to participate in the 2017 American Quarter Horse Association Collegiate Horsemanship Challenge on Nov. 11-12, 2017, during the Lucas Oil AQHA World Championship Show in Oklahoma City, OK.

The preliminaries will take place on November 11 with a slated start time of 12:30pm, with the finals on November 12 at a slated start time of 7:00pm.

“It’s an honor for student-athletes to be chosen to represent the NCEA at the AQHA Horsemanship Challenge,” said first-year head coach Casie Maxwell. “This opportunity gives them a chance to compete at one of the most prestigious AQHA events, while also representing the collegiate side of the sport. Abbi had a great sophomore season, which is what qualified her for the event. She continues to lay down solid performances when she enters the arena, and I know she’ll represent Baylor with pride this weekend.”

Demel has been one of the top horsemanship riders in the country and has helped lead the Baylor squad year in and year out, now in her third season with the Bears.

The Hoisington, Kan., native is 4-1-0 this season in horsemanship, including 2-0 in Big 12 play, with all but one of those wins coming in road competitions on the opposing team’s horses.

The student-athlete riders representing National Collegiate Equestrian Association institutions were selected for the AQHA Collegiate Horsemanship Challenge based on their win-loss percentages by the NCEA selection committee.

AQHA Collegiate Horsemanship Challenge Selections
Payton Anderson, University of Georgia
Kirsten Chamberland, Oklahoma State University
Abbi Demel, Baylor University
Kara Kaufmann, Auburn University
Ashley Mauney, Southern Methodist University
Josie Mootz, Texas Christian University
Maddie Thiel, University of South Carolina
Rachel Williams, Fresno State
Brittany Abernathy, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M
Kinsey Ayres, Black Hawk College
Elizabeth Ellis, Berry College
Margherita Guerra, University of California Davis
Mark Mowbray, St. Andrews University
Taylor Overmier, The Ohio State University
Marissa Phillips, University of Findlay
Hayley Ruffner, Alfred University




Online Store