Skip to main content Skip to footer
Burke Named All-Big 12

April 28, 2010

Complete 2010 Big 12 Women's Golf Postseason Awards Release

IRVING, Texas - Baylor women's golf senior Hannah Burke was named to the 2010 All-Big 12 Team, the conference announced Wednesday. Burke, who earned All-Big 12 recognition in 2007 and 2009 and was named 2007 Big 12 Newcomer of the Year, is the first three-time All-Big 12 performer in program history.

The 2010 All-Big 12 Team, which consists of 10 student-athletes, was identified by using the top-10 highest-ranked student-athletes according to the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings following the Big 12 Championship. The Player and Newcomer of the Year are automatically selected as the highest-ranked individuals from the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings following the Conference championship.

"It always exciting to see a player such as Hannah (Burke) receive such a well-deserved honor," Baylor head women's golf coach Sylvia Ferdon said. "She's been the best leader for our program that I've ever coached at Baylor."

The Herfordshire, England, native ranks third in the Big 12 and 36th nationally with a team-best 73.45 scoring average through 31 rounds. Burke also leads the Lady Bears in score vs. par (1.65), rounds of par or better (12), top-10 (six), top-15 (eight) and top-25 (eight) finishes. At last week's Big 12 Championship in Norman, Okla., Burke notched her school-record 13th career top-five finish, placing second overall. She broke the school mark of 12 previously held by Melanie Hagewood (1999-2003).

"Her playing ability continued to get better and better with each season," Ferdon said. "She's broken nearly every record we've had at Baylor. She has a tremendous amount of heart, desire and determination and I'm really proud of her."

Burke and Hagewood share the school record with 21 career top-10 finishes. For her second-place finish at the Big 12 Championship, Burke was named to the Big 12 All-Tournament Team, becoming the first three-time all-tournament performer in program history.

The Lady Bears, which earned their 10th invitation to NCAA postseason play in the last 11 years, will participate in the NCAA Central Regional May 6-8 at the Otter Creek Golf Course in Columbus, Ind.

Hannah Burke, Baylor, Sr.
Pennapa Pulsawath, Iowa State, Sr.
Julia Potter, Missouri, Sr.
Ellen Mueller, Oklahoma, Jr.
Caroline Hedwall, Oklahoma State, So.
Victoria Park, Oklahoma State, Fr.
Shannon Fish, Texas, Sr.
Julia Boland, Texas A&M, Fr.
Sarah Beth Davis, Texas A&M, Fr.
Sarah Zwartynski, Texas A&M, Jr.

Player of the Year
Caroline Hedwall, Oklahoma State, So.

Newcomer of the Year
Julia Boland, Texas A&M, Sr.

Coach of the Year
Trelle McCombs, Texas A&M



Online Store