Skip to main content Skip to footer
Davis, Taylor Earn All-Big 12 WG Honors

Lauren Taylor is the second Baylor player to win Big 12 Freshman of the Year.

May 1, 2013

WACO, Texas - Baylor freshman Lauren Taylor and sophomore Hayley Davis were named to the All-Big 12 Women's Golf Team, and Taylor was named Big 12 Freshman of the Year, the conference office announced Wednesday.

The 2013 All-Big 12 Team is comprised of the top 10-ranked golfers according to the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings following the Big 12 Championship. The Player and Freshman of the Year awards are automatically selected as the highest-ranked individuals.

Baylor had multiple All-Big 12 selections for the second straight season. The Lady Bears earned nine All-Big 12 honors in the league's first 15 years before earning four selections in the first two seasons under head coach Jay Goble.

Davis, who was named to the All-Big 12 Team as a freshman in 2012, became the fourth player in program history to earn multiple honors. She joined Ali Brewer (1999, 2000), Melanie Hagewood (2001, 2003) and Hannah Burke (2007, 2009, 2010).

Davis leads Baylor with a 72.77 stroke average over 30 rounds played this season. She's shot 11 rounds of par or better and placed in the top 10 individually in eight of 10 tournaments this season, including a win at the Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate.

Taylor is second on the team with a 73.47 stroke average over 30 rounds, and she's recorded 11 rounds of par or better. She captured the individual title at the 2013 Big 12 Conference Championship, winning the 45-player event by eight strokes and becoming the second freshman in league history to earn medalist honors. Taylor joined Burke (2007) as the only players in program history to win Big 12 Freshman of the Year.

The No. 19-ranked Baylor women's golf team was awarded the No. 7 seed in the NCAA West Regional, which will be played May 9-11 in Stanford, Calif. The Lady Bears will be making their 12th all-time NCAA Regional appearance - all in the last 14 seasons. The top eight teams from each of the three regional sites advance to the 32nd-annual NCAA Division I Women's Golf Championship, which will be played May 21-24 in Athens, Ga.

Follow the official twitter feed of Baylor women's golf, @BaylorWGolf, for updates throughout the season.

Hayley Davis, Baylor
Lauren Taylor, Baylor
Chirapat Jao-Javanil, Oklahoma
AC Tanguay, Oklahoma
Emily Collins, Oklahoma
Kelsey Vines, Oklahoma State
Julie Yang, Oklahoma State
Desiree Dubreuil, Texas
Katelyn Sepmoree, Texas
Kimberly Kaufman, Texas Tech

Player of the Year: Kelsey Vines, Oklahoma State
Freshman of the Year: Lauren Taylor, Baylor
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Kim Kaufman, Texas Tech
Coach of the Year: Alan Bratton, Oklahoma State

Ali Brewer, 1999
Ali Brewer, 2000
Melanie Hagewood, 2001
Melanie Hagewood, 2003
Josefin Svenningsson, 2004
Hannah Burke, 2007
Allison Martin, 2007
Hannah Burke, 2009
Hannah Burke, 2010
Chelsey Cothran, 2012
Hayley Davis, 2012
Hayley Davis, 2013
Lauren Taylor, 2013



Online Store