Skip to main content Skip to footer
National Title Quest Begins Tuesday for Women's Golf

Freshman Hayley Davis

May 21, 2012

2012 NCAA Championship Notes Get Acrobat Reader | Live Scoring | Live Video

FRANKLIN, Tenn. – For only the second time in program history, the Baylor women’s golf team is preparing for the NCAA Championship. The 31st NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Championship, hosted by Vanderbilt University, will be held May 22-25 on the par-72, 6,377-yard course at the Vanderbilt Legends Golf Club.

Earlier this month, Baylor advanced to the NCAA Championship with a fifth-place finish at the NCAA West Regional in Erie, Colo., tying its best finish in NCAA Regional play. In 2004, the Lady Bears also finished fifth at the NCAA Central Regional, earning the program’s first NCAA Championship berth. The Lady Bears tied for 19th in their only other NCAA Championship trip.

Baylor will be paired with Virginia and Florida for the first and second rounds. The trio is scheduled to start from the No. 1 tee Tuesday at 7:30 a.m. CDT and Wednesday at 11:53 a.m. CDT from the No. 10 tee. Championship pairings for Thursday’s third round will be determined by 36-hole totals and pairings for Friday’s final round will be determined by 54-hole totals.

Live scoring for each round of the 2012 NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Championship will be available at will provide a live webcast of No. 9 and No. 18 for the third and fourth rounds.

For the 10th time this season, Baylor’s lineup will feature freshman Haley Davis in the No. 1 spot, followed by seniors Chelsey Cothran, Jaclyn Jansen and Valerie Sternebeck, and freshman Stani Schiavone. Baylor will utilize the same lineup from its third-place finish at last month’s Big 12 Women’s Golf Championship in Lawrence, Kan., and its fifth-place finish at the NCAA West Regional.

Davis, one of Baylor’s two All-Big 12 selections, showed no signs of jitters in the NCAA postseason debut, finishing third at the NCAA West Regional with a 4-under (69-74-69=212). Jansen tied for 10th overall at 2-under 218, while Schiavone tied for 35th. Cothran is the only golfer in Baylor’s lineup who has played in the NCAA postseason in each of the last four seasons.

Davis leads the Lady Bears with a 72.73 scoring average in 33 rounds, posting a team-best nine top-10 finishes. Cothran ranks second with a 73.91 scoring average and six top-10 finishes. Davis, Cothran and Sternebeck have appeared in every tournament this season.

All-session passes for the 2012 NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Championship are $25 for adults and $15 for students ages 17 and under. Single-day passes are $8 for adults and $5 for youth/students.

Baylor is making its second NCAA finals appearance in program history. All 11 of the Lady Bears’ NCAA Regional appearances have come in the last 13 seasons. In 2002, Melanie Hagewood advanced to the NCAA Championship as an individual, tying for 50th overall.
2002 NCAA Championship (Auburn, Wash.) – Melanie Hagewood (t50th)
2004 NCAA Championship (Auburn, Ala.) – Baylor (t19th)
2012 NCAA Championship (Franklin, Tenn.)

Dates: Tue., May 22-Fri., May 25
Location: Franklin, Tenn. (Vanderbilt Legends Golf Club)
Host: Vanderbilt
Par / Yardage: 72 / 6,377
Format: 18-18-18-18
Teams (24): Alabama, Arizona State, Arkansas, BAYLOR, Colorado, Duke, Florida, LSU, Michigan State, North Carolina, N.C. State, Ohio State, Oklahoma, Pepperdine, Purdue, South Carolina, Stanford, Tennessee, Texas, Texas A&M, UCLA, USC, Vanderbilt, Virginia
Individuals: Kelsey Vines, Oklahoma State; Maria Salinas, Florida State; Kimberly Kaufman, Texas Tech; Gabriella Dominguez, Texas Tech; Margarita Ramos, Arizona; Rocio Sanchez Lobato, Georgia
Live Scoring:



Online Store