Skip to main content Skip to footer
WG Trio Named to All-American Scholar Team

Natalia Perez has earned All-American Scholar honors in each of her first two years at Baylor.

July 24, 2014

CORAL SPRINGS, Fla. - Three Baylor women's golf student-athletes were selected to the 2013-14 Women's Golf Coaches Association All-American Scholar Team, as announced by the WGCA.

Sophomore Natalia Perez earned her second career honor after being named an All-American Scholar as a freshman in 2012-13, while sophomore Laura Lonardi and freshman Maggie Beth Byers were both named to the team for the first time.

Baylor has now had at least one selection in 14 consecutive seasons, including 11 years with multiple honorees. The three selections tie a program record set in 2001-02, 2004-05 and 2005-06, and the Lady Bears have now had 14 different players honored a total of 29 times since teams were first named in 2001.

Lonardi finished second on the team with a 74.62 stroke average in 2013-14. She played seven of 29 rounds at par or better and recorded a trio of top-10 finishes, including a tie for fourth place at the 2014 Big 12 Conference Championships.

Byers played in five events and recorded a 76.71 stroke average during her collegiate debut season. He best finish came with a tie for 28th place at the Dallas Athletic Club Invitational, which the Lady Bears won by four strokes.

Perez finished fourth on the team with a 76.08 stroke average over 24 rounds played. She shot four rounds at par or better, including a career-low 69 in the first round of the 2013 Cougar Classic. Her lowest tournament score of the season came with a 10-over-par 220 at the Alamo Invitational, where she tied for 38th place.

A total of 664 women's collegiate golfers were recognized on the WGCA All-American Scholar Team. To be eligible, a student-athlete must have a minimum cumulative GPA of at least 3.50, and each Division I team member must have competed in at least 50% of the college's regularly scheduled competitive rounds during the academic year.

2000-01 - Melanie Hagewood
2000-01 - Hanna-Sofia Svenningsson
2001-02 - Tara Bateman
2001-02 - Melanie Hagewood
2001-02 - Hanna-Sofia Svenningsson
2002-03 - Melanie Hagewood
2002-03 - Hanna-Sofia Svenningsson
2003-04 - Meredith Jones
2003-04 - Anna Rehnholm
2004-05 - Meredith Jones
2004-05 - Allison Martin
2004-05 - Anna Rehnholm
2005-06 - Meredith Jones
2005-06 - Allison Martin
2005-06 - Anna Rehnholm
2006-07 - Allison Martin
2006-07 - Anna Rehnholm
2007-08 - Morgan Chambers
2007-08 - Kristen Hendrix
2008-09 - Morgan Chambers
2009-10 - Morgan Chambers
2010-11 - Morgan Chambers
2010-11 - Kaylin Terry
2011-12 - Stani Schiavone
2011-12 - Valerie Sternebeck
2012-13 - Natalia Perez
2013-14 - Maggie Beth Byers
2013-14 - Laura Lonardi
2013-14 - Natalia Perez



Online Store