Skip to main content Skip to footer
Women's Golf Opens Season at Ptarmigan

Sept. 11, 2010

Live Tournament Scoring (via

FORT COLLINS, Colo. - The Baylor women's golf team opens its 2010 fall season Sept. 13-14 at the Ptarmigan Ram Fall Classic, hosted by Colorado State.

The two-day, 54-hole event will be held at the par-72, 6,259-yard Ptarmigan Country Club with a shotgun start on Mon., Sept. 13, and tee times on Tue., Sept. 14. Live scoring for each round will be available online at In addition to Baylor and host Colorado State, the 16-team field includes California, Colorado, Fresno State, Idaho, Illinois, Long Beach State, Louisville, New Mexico State, Northern Colorado, Oregon, San Jose State, UTEP, Texas Tech and Wyoming.

Baylor, which advanced to the NCAA postseason for the 10th time in 11 years in 2010, enters its 17th season under the direction of head coach Sylvia Ferdon. Senior Lene Hafsten-Morch and juniors Jaclyn Jansen and Chelsey Cothran bolster Baylor's opening lineup. Joining Baylor's top returning trio are seniors Morgan Chambers and Jordan Rhodes.

"Traditionally, the Ptarmigan has been a good tournament for us," Ferdon said. "It's almost like a mini-homecoming for us - the host families know us and we have Baylor alumni out there, as well."

Jansen is Baylor's top returner from last season's NCAA Central Regional team, posting six top-25 finishes and a 76.18 scoring average. A second-team Academic All-Big 12 selection in 2010, Jansen won the 110th Western Women's Golf Association National Amateur Championship in June. Cothran is Baylor's leading returning scorer, carding a 76.12 stroke average through 34 rounds. Hafsten-Morch, who played for the Norwegian Elite Team all summer long, owns the third-lowest returning scoring average with 76.19 through 31 rounds in 2009-10.

"It's not a difficult course, but playing at Ptarmigan will give us the experience we need as we progress through the fall," Ferdon said. "We need to come out of the blocks with low scores; we can't afford to dig ourselves in a hole early."

This year's trip will mark Baylor's eighth appearance at the Ptarmigan Ram Fall Classic. The Lady Bears have won the Ptarmigan twice - 2002 and 2005 - which is tied for the most team titles in the tournament's eight-year history. Former Lady Bears Sian Reddick and Josefin Svenningsson shared individual medalist honors in 2005 with a final score of 2010. Last season, the Lady Bears finished seventh overall at the 2009 Ptarmigan Ram Fall Classic. Jansen led the Lady Bears, finishing tied for eighth at 2-under 214.

"We've prepared for our opening tournament by qualifying at Ridgewood Country Club, which has bentgrass greens like Ptarmigan," Ferdon said. "I think everyone is ready to compete and get the season underway."

Event: Ptarmigan Ram Fall Classic
Dates: Mon., Sept. 13 and Tue., Sept. 14
Location/Course: Fort Collins, Colo./Ptarmigan Country Club
Par/Yardage: 72/6,259
Field (16 teams):
BAYLOR, California, Colorado, Colorado State, Fresno State, Idaho, Illinois, Long Beach State, Louisville, New Mexico State, Northern Colorado, Oregon, San Jose State, UTEP, Texas Tech, Wyoming
Baylor's Best Finish: 1st (2002, 2005)



Online Store