Skip to main content Skip to footer
Soccer Holds Awards Banquet

Juniors Dana Larsen and Carlie Davis earned Offensive and Defensive Players of the year, respectively.

April 25, 2012

The Baylor soccer team capped off a very successful 2011 campaign with its annual awards banquet Sunday at the Stone Room in the Ferrell Center.

The Bears finished with a 15-4-3 record, placing third in the Big 12 after going 5-2-1. With 15 wins on the year, the Bears tied the 1998 Big 12 Champion team for the second-most victories in a season and was the first team to advance past the first round of the NCAA Championship in program history.

Highlighting the banquet were the individual awards. Junior Dana Larsen earned Offensive Player of the Year after leading the Bears in goals (11), points (24) and game-winning goals (4). The Defensive Player of the Year went to junior Carlie Davis, who started and played in every game, always marking the opposition's best player. The Team MVP was won by senior goalkeeper Courtney Seelhorst, whose 10 shutouts marked a new program record and 0.80 goals against average was second all-time. The final award was the Player's Player Award, given to Brittany Hunemuller for the fourth year in a row. For this reason, it will now be known as the Hunemuller Award.

The Bears also said goodbye to their departing senior class of Hunemuller, Seelhorst, Bethany Johnston, Hannah Dismuke, Christine Clark and Staz Salinas.



Online Store