Skip to main content Skip to footer
Soccer Hands Out Awards

After wrapping up one of the most successful seasons in the last decade, the Baylor soccer team handed out its annual awards at its banquet, held on April 17th in the Stone Room.

"It was a great night and a final chance for us all to be together again," head coach Marci Jobson said. "This team accomplished so much and really set the tone for a bright future for Baylor soccer."

Lindsey Johnson earned the Team MVP award for her leadership and hard work as a captain in 2010. Co-Defensive MVP honors went to goalkeeper Courtney Seelhorst and defender Lucy Quintana for anchoring a defense that tied the program record for most shutouts in a season with 11. Seelhorst recorded eight solo shutouts on the year, tying her with Dawn Greathouse for second in most solo shutouts in a season. In addition, her 0.812 GAA on the year ranks her second all-time for goals-against average in a season at BU.

On the offensive side of the ball, Lotto Smith and Hanna Gilmore were named Co-Offensive MVP's. Gilmore tied for the team lead in goals with seven, including three game-winners and earned her second career Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week honor, opening the season with a weekend of two goals and an assist. Smith added three goals and three assists in her final season in the green and gold.

The 2010 squad finished with the most overall wins (11) since 1999 and the most conference victories (4) since 2001. The Bears, now nationally known for their stifling defense, tied the program record for most shutouts in a season with 11 and tied the 1997 team for the most home wins in Baylor history with nine.



Online Store