Skip to main content Skip to footer
Goodwin, Ludlow Named Recipients of Big 12's Postgraduate Scholarship

June 3, 2014

IRVING, Texas - Baylor baseball's Nate Goodwin and soccer's Kat Ludlow were named recipients of the Big 12's Dr. Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarship, the league announced Tuesday. Goodwin and Ludlow are two of 20 recipients amongst the league as each school had two honorees.

Nate Goodwin is the first in the baseball program to earn the scholarship since Jon Ringenberg in 2012 and the sixth overall in program history. With a 3.90 GPA as a biology major, Goodwin plans to attend Baylor's College of Medicine.

An eight-time Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll member and two-time Academic All-Big 12 first team selection, the Overland Park, Kan., native played in 92 games and made 39 starts.

Ludlow is the first in the soccer program to earn the scholarship since Gianna Quintana in 2010 and the fourth overall in program history. With a 3.76 GPA as a health science studies pre-physical therapy major, Ludlow plans to attend UT Southwestern for physical therapy.

The Colleyville, Texas, native was an eight-time Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll member, three-time Academic All-Big 12 selection and 2013 Capital One Academic All-District VII second team choice. She also earned second-team National Soccer Coaches Association of America All-Central Region in 2012 while being a second-team All-Big 12 honoree.

In 87 career matches and 67 starts, Ludlow tallied 21 points on seven goals and seven assists. Two of her goals were game-winners. She ranks in Baylor's career top 30 in assists, points and goals, and was one of 30 candidates in Division I soccer for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award - the program's first-ever candidate.

The scholarships are named in honor of the late Dr. Prentice Gautt, a former Big 12 Conference staff member and student services' pioneer who passed away in March 2005. The list of all-time recipients has grown to 348 since the inception of the league in 1996-97. Starting in 2002-03, additional funding increased scholarship award winners to two per member institution.

To date the Big 12 has provided over $2.3 million for postgraduate education. The individual grants began at $2,500 in 1996-97, were raised to $5,000 in 1999 and increased to $6,900 for 2004-05. The awards climbed to $7,500 in 2006-07 and moved to $9,000 in 2011-12.

Criteria for the awards includes a cumulative grade point average of 3.200 on a 4.000 scale, participation in at least two years of intercollegiate athletics at the nominee's respective institution and completion of athletics' eligibility. The student-athletes also must graduate from their respective member institutions within 15 months of their selection for a postgraduate scholarship and are expected to enroll in graduate/professional schools within two years of graduation. Three faculty representatives, one senior woman administrator and one director of athletics form the selection panel for the awards.

Previous Baylor Dr. Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarship Winners
2013-14 - Nate Goodwin (BB), Kat Ludlow (SOC)
2012-13 - Nick Florence (FB), Kathy Shelton (SB)
2011-12 - Sydney Wilson (SB), Jon Ringenberg (BB)
2010-11 - Tiffany Wesley (SB), Logan Roberts (T&F/CC)
2009-10 - Gianna Quintana (SOC), Dominik Mueller (MTennis)
2008-09 - Lyndsy Bedell (CC/T&F), Zach Dillon (BB)
2007-08 - Kristen Schramek (VB), Tim Jackson (BB)
2006-07 - Chelsi Lake (SB), Irwin Price (CC)
2005-06 - Phil Tran (FB), Sara Hausner (SB)
2004-05 - Stephen Sepulveda (FB), Lori Viggiano (SOC)
2003-04 - John Martin (FB), Megan McCoin (CC/T&F)
2002-03 - Ross Bennett (BB), Whitney Barrett (SOC)
2001-02 - Tim Hartson (BB), Lanie Millar (CC/T&F)
2000-01 - Kerry O'Bric (T&F), Mark Williams (MTennis)
1997-98 - Douglas Maziur (T&F)




Online Store