Skip to main content Skip to footer
Soccer Places 16 On Academic All-Big 12

Dana Larsen

Nov. 1, 2011

IRVING, Texas - The Baylor soccer team had a program best 16 student-athletes named to the Academic All-Big 12 team, including a BU record, 13 on the first-team, the Big 12 Conference announced Tuesday. Baylor's record total number of student-athletes and first-team members were the most by any school.

The Bears featured two of the conference's 12 perfect 4.00 GPA's, as Bethany Johnston (Sr., Biochemistry) and Dana Larsen (Jr., Biochemistry) were named to the first team for the third and second time, respectively.

In addition, Larissa Campos, Carlie Davis, Hannah Dismuke, Taylor Heatherly, Vic Hoffman, Brittany Hunemuller, Alex Klein, Kat Ludlow, Selby Polley, Courtney Seelhorst and Lisa Sliwinski all earned first-team honors. Christine Clark, Hanna Gilmore and Catie McGowan were named to the second team

Dismuke (Sr., Entrepreneurship), Hunemuller (Sr., Accounting), Johnston and Seelhorst (Sr., Pre-Physical Therapy, each earned their third selection to the academic team.

Davis (Jr., International Studies), Larsen and Sliwinski (Jr., Pre-Med) were named for the second time.



Campos (So., Journalism), Clark (Sr., General Studies), Gilmore (Jr., Marketing/Entrepreneurship), Heatherly (So., Secondary English), Hoffman (So., Film, Digital & Media), Klein (So., Pre-Physical Therapy), Ludlow (So., Pre-Physical Therapy), McGowan (Sr., Elementary Education) and Polley (So., Pre-Physical Therapy) recorded the honor for the first time.

A total 70 first team members were honored, while 19 placed on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

Online Store