Skip to main content Skip to footer
Softball Selected to Host First Round NCAA Regional

Baylor was selected to host the first round of the NCAA Tournament at Getterman Stadium

May 11, 2014

WACO, Texas - The NCAA selected the No. 17 Baylor softball team and Waco, Texas as one of 16 sites for the opening round of the 2014 NCAA Softball Tournament May 16-18. The Lady Bears were seeded No. 13 and will play host to Houston, Northwestern State and Tulsa.

Baylor will open Friday against Northwestern State (Natchithoches, La.) and Houston will play Tulsa at times to be determined. In the double-elimination round, one winner will emerge to play in a Super Regional in a best-of-three series that will determine the final eight teams headed to the Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City, May 28.

Baylor finished the season at 42-13 and placed second in the Big 12, the second-highest finish in league history for the Lady Bears other than their 2007 Big 12 title. Baylor last served as a first-round site in 2009 with Whitney Canion the only active player remaining to witness it.

The NFCA and USA Softball ranked Baylor No. 17 in the final regular-season poll Tuesday while the NCAA had the Lady Bears at No. 12 in the RPI. Baylor earned a No. 13 seed after going 13-9 against Top 40 teams in the NCAA RPI and 5-6 vs. nationally ranked teams.

Baylor's all-time record in the NCAA postseason is 28-18 and all 46 games have been under head coach Glenn Moore. Baylor played host to a first-round site in 2004 and 2009 along with Super Regionals in 2005 and 2007. The Lady Bears are 8-5 all-time in NCAA Tournament games played in Waco.

This marks the ninth appearance for Baylor overall in the NCAA Tournament and fourth consecutive selection. The Lady Bears have advanced to at least a Super Regional round four times and are 20-6 all-time in the first round.

"We're excited to be home after a travel-heavy regular season," said Baylor head coach Glenn Moore. "Our investments in the regular season schedule difficulty have paid off and we're glad to give our home fans some exciting softball."

Northwestern State comes to Waco with a 30-20 record and won the Southland Conference championship for the second-straight year. Baylor is 20-2 all-time vs. the Lady Demons and have never faced the team in the playoffs.

Houston comes to Waco with a 32-21 record and a fourth-place finish the American Athletic Conference. Baylor is 14-8 all-time vs. the Cougars and the teams split a doubleheader this season April 8.

Tulsa comes to Waco with a 50-7 record and a Conference USA title under its belt. Baylor is 6-1 all-time against the Golden Hurricane.




Baylor Softball NCAA Postseason Notes

2013, College Station Regional - fell to Texas A&M in championship game, 8-0 May 19, 2013

2009 - Went 3-0 with two wins over Louisiana-Lafayette to advance to Super Regional in Ann Arbor, Michigan where the Lady Bears fell twice to the Wolverines.

2011 - Baylor advanced past the College Park Regional with wins over Lehigh, and two over East Carolina to advance to the Athens Super Regional. Baylor took two out of three at Georgia to advance to the Women's College World Series for the second time in school history.

2011 - Baylor went 2-2 at the 2011 WCWS with wins over Oklahoma State and Missouri and losses to Alabama and Arizona State. All four Baylor seniors, Whitney Canion, Clare Hosack, Liz Paul and Holly Holl were members of the 2011 WCWS team.

Baylor's all-time Postseason Record (NCAA):

Baylor's all-time Postseason Record in Waco:


Baylor's all-time First-Round Record:

All-Time Baylor Postseason Appearances:
2004 - Waco Regional
2005 - Auburn Regional, Waco Super Regional
2006 - Corvallis Regional (Oregon St.)
2007 - Hempstead Regional (Albany), Waco Super Regional, WCWS
2009 - Waco Regional, Ann Arbor Super Regional (Michigan)
2011 - College Park Regional (Maryland), Athens Super Regional (Georgia), WCWS
2012 - Lafayette Regional (Louisiana-Lafayette),
2013 - College Station Regional (Texas A&M)

Pre-Glenn Moore Postseason Appearances:
1979 - SWAIAW Regional Tournament, 0-2 (Head Coach: Olga Fallon)
1980 - AIAW Regional Tournament, 5-1; AIAW Nationals, 0-1 (Head Coach: Bob Brock)
1981 - AIAW Regional Tournament, 4-0, AIAW Nationals, 0-2

Online Store