Go Bears!
GO Bears!
Go Bears!
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Softball Announces 2007 Schedule

Glenn Moore and the 2007 Lady Bears open the season on Feb. 9.

Glenn Moore and the 2007 Lady Bears open the season on Feb. 9.

Nov. 6, 2006

WACO, Texas -- A three-game series at home against defending national champion Arizona as well as the regular Big 12 Conference slate highlights the 2007 Baylor softball schedule released on Monday. The schedule features 21 games against 13 teams that qualified for the 2006 NCAA Softball Championship.

"Once again, we feel as if we have put together a challenging schedule that will help us prepare for Big 12 Conference and post-season play," head coach Glenn Moore said. "The team has some lofty goals this season; and, we feel as if this type of schedule can help our team prepare to be successful throughout the conference season and post-season play."

Baylor opens the 2007 season by hosting the Getterman Classic as the Lady Bears play host to Southern Miss, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, Kentucky and Stephen F. Austin at the sixth-annual classic. The Lady Bears open play at the classic on Friday, Feb. 9, when Baylor faces Southern Miss at 5:30 p.m.

The Lady Bears key non-conference series will take place the weekend of March 9-11, when Baylor hosts defending national champion Arizona. The three-game series, dubbed the Compass Bank Challenge, opens on Friday, March 9, at 6:30 p.m., with game two of the series scheduled for Saturday, March 10, at 2:00 p.m. The series between the Lady Bears and Wildcats concludes on Sunday, March 11, at 12:00 p.m.

In addition to the Getterman Classic and the series against Arizona, Baylor will travel to the Ragin' Cajun Invitational (Purdue, Louisiana-Lafayette, Iowa State and Mississippi; Feb. 16-18), the NFCA Leadoff Classic (Georgia Tech, UMass, DePaul and Florida; Feb. 23-25) and the Hawai'i Invitational (Liberty, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Nevada, Hawai'i and Cal; March 14-17).

Baylor opens the Big 12 Conference season on Saturday, March 25, at 2:00 p.m. as the Lady Bears host Nebraska for the start of a two-game series.

In addition to Nebraska, the Lady Bears will host Oklahoma State (April 14-15) and Missouri (April 28-29) in two-game series as well as host Texas A&M (May 1) and Texas (May 3) in single games to close out the regular season.

The Lady Bears will travel to Kansas (March 31-April 1), Texas Tech (April 6-7), Oklahoma (April 18) and Iowa State (April 21-22) in addition to single games at Texas A&M (April 4) and Texas (April 11) during conference play.

Baylor will open post-season play at the Big 12 Championships on Thursday, May 10, in Oklahoma City, Okla. The Big 12 Championships will feature a new format this season as teams will participate in a single-elimination tournament as opposed to a double-elimination bracket in past seasons.

The Lady Bears return eight players, including NFCA All-Americans Brette Reagan and Chelsi Lake, from last year's squad that finished 38-22 on the season and advanced to the NCAA Corvallis Regional final.



   Shop Now at the Official Online Store