Skip to main content Skip to footer
No. 13 WT Closes Regular Season with 4-0 ISU Shutout

(4-18, 1-8) Rank: NR
  #1 #2 #3 #1 #2 #3 #4 #5 #6

Complete Results | Highlights

(22-6, 7-2) Rank: #13
#24 Secerbegovic d. Macedo 6-1, 6-2
#17 Nakic d. Pronina 6-1, 6-1
#45 Novakova vs. Cacciuttolo 6-2, 5-0, unfinished
Burgic d. Cassens 6-0, 6-2
Horter vs. Langhorst 6-2, 5-0, unfinished
Kosakowski vs. Chartier 6-2, 4-2, unfinished

#17 Secerbegovic/Burgic d. Macedo/Lang 8-1
Novakova/Nakic d. Cacciutullo/Chartier 8-3
Pronina/Langhorst d. Kosakowski/Horter 8-7(3)

2012 Roster
2012 Schedule
2012 Stats

April 23, 2012

WACO, Texas - Baylor's 13th-ranked tennis team recorded its third straight shutout, defeating Iowa State 4-0 in the final regular-season match of the season on Monday evening at the Hurd Tennis Center.

Baylor will head into the postseason on a three-match win streak, taking the doubles point and three straight-set singles matches to down the Cyclones.

"It was good to see the focus out of our team tonight," head coach Joey Scrivano said. "The ladies came out and got the job done tonight. We really needed to play well these last two matches heading into the tournament."

In doubles, Baylor was able to dominate the top two courts to earn the point for the second on consecutive match and third time in the last four matches. The 17th-ranked pair of Ema Burgic and Nina Secerbegovic jumped out early and held their momentum for an 8-1 win over ISU's Maria Fernanda Macedo and Tessa Lang. On Court 2, Diana Nakic and Sona Novakova defeated Simona Cacciuttolo and Marie Chartier 8-3

In singles, Baylor continued its impressive run without losing a set in each of the last three matches. Baylor won the first set in all six singles matches on the evening, finishing on Courts 1, 2 and 4 to clinch the win.

No. 24 Secerbegovic was the first to finish, defeating Macedo on Court 1 6-1, 6-2. Nakic, ranked 12th, was the next to finish, recording a dominating 6-1, 6-1 win.

Freshman Burgic clinched the win on Court 4, losing just two games as well, on the way to a 6-0, 6-2 victory.

Baylor will begin the postseason as the No. 2 seed in the Big 12 Conference Championship on April 26-28 in College Station, Texas. The Lady Bears will take on the winner of Thursday's Kansas-Oklahoma match at 3 p.m. on Friday.



Online Store