Skip to main content Skip to footer
Women's Tennis Places Five on Academic All-Big 12 Team

Ema Burgic

April 22, 2014

IRVING, Texas - Five Baylor women's tennis student-athletes were named to the Academic All-Big 12 Team, league officials announced on Tuesday.

Four players, Ema Burgic, Victoria Kisialeva, Alex Leatu and Abby Stainback, garnered first-team honors, while Alex Clay was honored as a second-team member.

The league honored a total of 36 women, including 30 on the first team and six on the second team. The Lady Bears have now had at least two honorees in six consecutive seasons.

Burgic, an accounting major, has racked up an 11-7 record and won five straight singles matches. She is currently ranked No. 83 in the country. A native of Lukavac, Bosnia & Herzegovina, she went 7-2 in Big 12 singles action and 8-0 in conference doubles play.

Kisialeva is a sophomore finance major from Toronto, Canada, who has a 15-12 record in singles play and a 13-9 mark in dual-match doubles action.

In her senior season, Leatu, a journalism-public relations major, has produced an 11-5 record in dual-match singles play. The Littleton, Colo., native, tallied a 5-2 record in Big 12 singles play.

Stainback, a senior in the Child and Family Studies program, has won all three singles matches in which she has played this season.

Another senior, Clay, has been a consistent point at the bottom of Baylor's lineup. The journalism major from Grayson, Ga., has posted a 9-6 record this season, but she went 8-1 in Big 12 singles action. In doubles, Clay has found success with partner Blair Shankle. The duo has won all nine matches it has played together.



Five honorees are the most the Bears have had since 2010.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. First-team honorees have a 3.20 GPA or higher. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

Next up, Baylor will begin the postseason as the No. 1 seed in the Big 12 Conference Championships starting Thursday in Fort Worth, Texas. The Lady Bears will take on the winner of Thursday's Kansas-Iowa State match at 9 a.m. on Friday.

To stay current on all things Baylor Women's Tennis, follow the team on Twitter and Instagram: @BaylorWTennis.

Online Store