Skip to main content Skip to footer
Women's Tennis Sweeps Big 12 Awards

April 28, 2008

WACO, Texas -

The Baylor women's tennis team made a clean sweep of the 2008 All-Big 12 Tennis Awards, claiming the Player, Freshman, Newcomer and Coach of the Year honors the league office announced on Monday.


Zuzana Zemenova was a unanimous selection for the Big 12 Player of the Year, while Taylor Ormond was tabbed Freshman of the Year. Jelena Stanivuk earned Newcomer of the Year honors, while head coach Joey Scrivano earned the league's Coach of the Year award.


The All-Big 12 honors are selected by the league's head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own players.


Zemenova is the first athlete in Big 12 history to win Player of the Year in four straight years in any sport. Baylor men's tennis player Benedikt Dorsch (2003-05) and Oklahoma State women's golfer Maria Boden (1999-2001) shared the previous high with Zemenova at three player of the year honors. She ended the conference regular-season with a 10-0 mark at No. 1 singles and a 7-2 ledger at No. 1 doubles. Her 115 career wins is second best in school history. The 25th-ranked player ends her Big 12 career with a 37-0 conference record with all matches coming at number one singles.




Ormond is the third BU women's player to win freshman recognition posting 26 wins in both singles and doubles play. She is currently ranked No. 43 in the nation. Her doubles partner Stanivuk claimed newcomer honors, finishing a combined 9-0 playing at positions No. 3-5. The award-winning duo tallied an 8-2 doubles mark in conference play.


Scrivano led the Bears to a dominating 28-2 overall record and third undefeated Big 12 Conference record. The Baylor women captured their third straight conference title while losing only twice on the season to Stanford and Northwestern, both ranked No. 1 nationally at the time.


In addition, Lenka Broosova was named to the 2008 All-Big 12 Singles Team for the second-straight season after posting a 44-4 overall record, including a 28-1 record in dual matches. Zemenova and Ormond also earned spots on the all-conference first-team.


Zemenova and Broosova were named to the 2008 All-Big 12 Doubles team following a 32-8 overall record. Jana Bielikova and Zuzana Chmelarova were also selected to the All-Big 12 Doubles team after fashioning a 9-5 record, including a 5-2 mark in Big 12 play.


Baylor won its third-straight Big 12 Tournament title on Sunday with a 4-1 win over No. 20 Texas. The Lady Bears will find out their NCAA Tournament plans during Tuesday's live announcement of the tournament pairings aired live on ESPN News at 1 p.m. A watch party with both the men's and women's tennis teams is scheduled for the Stone Reception Room at the Ferrell Center.



Zuzana Zemenova, Baylor, Sr.*



Jelena Stanivuk, Baylor, Fr.



Taylor Ormond, Baylor, Fr.



Joey Scrivano, Baylor





Lenka Broosova, Baylor, So.

Taylor Ormond, Baylor, Fr.

Zuzana Zemenova, Baylor, Sr.*

Monica Milewski, Colorado, Jr.*

Magdalena Tokarczyk, Kansas, Fr.

Viviana Yrureta, Kansas State, Sr.

Imke Reimers, Nebraska, Sr.*

Ana Maria Constantinescu, Oklahoma, Fr.

Iryna Tkachenko, Oklahoma State, Sr.

Vanja Corovic, Texas, So.

Courtney Zauft, Texas, Sr.

Elze' Potgeiter, Texas A&M, So.



Zuzana Chmelarova/Jana Bielikova, Baylor

Zuzana Zemenova/Lenka Broosova, Baylor

Monica Milewski/Camila Belassi, Colorado

Imke Reimers/Jana Albers, Nebraska

Vanja Corovic/Marija Milic, Texas

Tiffany Clifford/Ana Blagodarova, Texas A&M

Samantha van der Drift/Janet Durham, Texas Tech


* - Unanimous selection

Online Store