Skip to main content Skip to footer
Women's Tennis Selected as NCAA Host Site

May 1, 2012

Interactive Bracket  | Printable Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS - Baylor's 12th-ranked women's tennis team was selected as a host for the First and Second Rounds of the NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championship on May 11-12.

Making its eighth consecutive appearance and 15th overall in the NCAA tournament, Baylor will be joined by its first-round opponent, Oral Roberts, along with Tulsa and Stephen F. Austin. The Lady Bears will hit the court Friday at 2 p.m., just after the conclusion of the 11 a.m. match between Tulsa and Stephen F. Austin. The winners will play on Saturday at 2 p.m. for a chance to advance to the Round of 16 at the finals site in Athens, Ga. Match times will be announced soon.

"It's a really big deal to host," head coach Joey Scrivano said. "It's a massive advantage as long as we get the community support. I'm hoping that Baylor nation can come out and really propel us to the final site. We haven't hit on all cylinders yet, and so I'm hoping in this postseason that we can put together a team effort and make a run."

Scrivano will be making his 11th overall trip to the NCAA tournament as a head coach, including his eighth at the helm of the Baylor program. The Lady Bears have made the Round of 16 in each of the last seven seasons, including five appearances in the Elite Eight and Final Four berths in 2008 and 2011.

This season, however, Baylor's streak of seven consecutive Big 12 regular season titles and six consecutive Big 12 Championship titles came to an end as the team put together a 23-7 overall mark, including a tie for second in the league at 7-2.

The Lady Bears feature a senior trio of ranked singles players and a group of four newcomers who have come on strong in both singles and doubles in the latter half of the season. At the top, 15th-ranked Diana Nakic is 31-12, 22nd-ranked Nina Secerbegovic is 25-4 and 48th-ranked Sona Novakovais 25-4.

In the bottom half of the Baylor singles lineup, the quartet of freshmen Ema Burgic, Megan Horter and Nicole Kosakowski, and sophomore transfer Jordaan Sanford, has combined to post a 20-4 singles mark in the last nine team matches with wins in each of the last 12 matches on Courts 4-6.

Check for a full tournament preview, live scoring, and recaps. The winner of Sunday's match will move on to the championship site in Athens, Ga., from May 17-28.



Online Store