Skip to main content Skip to footer
Burgic Wins Big 12 Player of the Year, Scrivano Named Coach of the Year

Ema Burgic

May 8, 2013

IRVING, Texas - Baylor women's tennis sophomore Ema Burgic was named Player of the Year and head coach Joey Scrivano won his fourth Coach of the Year honor to headline three student-athletes recognized by the Big 12 Conference on Wednesday.

"Ema, Jordaan, Victoria and I are honored to get this recognition from the Big 12 coaches," head coach Joey Scrivano said. "Obviously, these awards aren't possible without the help of our players, coaches, and staff. This is a real team effort."

Burgic also earned a spot on the All-Big 12 Singles Team and on the All-Big 12 doubles squad with partner Victoria Kisialeva. Junior Jordaan Sanfordwas selected for the singles team as well.

Burgic becomes the third Baylor player to win Player of the Year honors and the first since Lenka Broosova in 2010. Zuzana Zemenovawon the award four straight years from 2005-08.

In 2013, the sophomore owns a 23-5 dual-match record and has won 15 straight matches with all of those contests coming at the No. 1 spot. Overall, Burgic is 40-8 on the season and 24-6 against ranked opponents. That win total is the fourth-most in BU history. After recording a 9-0 mark in Big 12 play, the Lukavac, Bosnia & Herzegovina is currently ranked 10th in the country.

Scrivano earns his fourth Big 12 Coach of the Year award, after also winning it in 2006, 2008 and 2009.

This season, Scrivano's team started the season just 4-10, but down the stretch the squad rallied to post a 12-4 mark to finish the year at 16-14 and earn the program's ninth-straight NCAA berth. At one point in that final stretch run, BU won nine consecutive matches to help tally an 8-1 mark in the Big 12 regular season. That record allowed the Lady Bears to win their ninth regular season crown in the last 11 years.

Despite losing three All-Big 12 seniors from his 2012 squad and his No. 2 singles player midway through the year due to injury, Scrivano has Baylor ranked No. 20 heading in to the NCAA Championships.

Burgic garnered her second straight All-Big 12 doubles honor as her and partner Victoria Kisialeva gave Baylor at least one doubles tandem on the list for a 10th-straight season. The pair is ranked No. 4 in the country, after putting together a 17-3 record at the No. 1 spot. The duo was 7-2 in Big 12 play and has won four straight.

Junior Jordan Sanford earned her first All-Big 12 singles honor. This season, she has an 11-8 dual-match record and went 4-3 in Big 12 play. Over her last 10 matches, she is 8-2, including three straight wins. The All-Big 12 tennis teams and awards are selected by the league's head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes. A total of 12 singles players and six tandems are honored.

Baylor has now had at least two singles honorees for eighth consecutive seasons under head coach Joey Scrivano. In Scrivano's 11 seasons, Baylor has now had a total of 38 all-league honors, including 27 in singles and 12 more in doubles.

The Lady Bears will be back in action Friday as they travel to Evanston, Ill. for the opening round of the 2013 NCAA Championships. Baylor will face 43rd-ranked San Diego State at 11 a.m. with the winner advancing to take on the winner of the Northwestern-Illinois Chicago match. The second round contest is scheduled for noon on Saturday.

Once the team competition has wrapped up, Burgic will take part in the NCAA Singles Championships. She will also partner with Kisialeva to part in the 32-team doubles championships.

Follow @BaylorWTennis on Twitter scores, news and inside information on the team all season.

All-Big 12 Singles Team
Ema Burgic, Baylor
Jordaan Sanford, Baylor
Karla Bonacic, Kansas State
Petra Niedermayerova, Kansas State
Hermon Brhane, Oklahoma
Whitney Ritchie, Oklahoma
Malika Rose, Oklahoma State
Stefanie Tan, TCU
Breaunna Addison, Texas
Elizabeth Begley, Texas
Aeriel Ellis, Texas
Samantha Adams, Texas Tech

All-Big 12 Doubles Team
Ema Burgic/Victoria Kisialeva, Baylor
Petra Niedermayerova/Karla Bonacic, Kansas State
Whitney Ritchie/Hermon Brhane, Oklahoma
Malika Rose/Kanyapat Narattana, Oklahoma State
Breaunna Addison/Noel Scott, Texas
Kenna Kilgo/Samantha Adams, Texas Tech

Freshman of the Year: Breaunna Addison, Texas
Newcomer of the Year: Hermon Brhane, Oklahoma
Player of the Year: Ema Burgic, Baylor
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Petra Niedermayerova, Kansas State
Coach of the Year: Joey Scrivano, Baylor



Online Store