Women's Tennis Earns ITA Recognition

May 13, 2008

WACO, Texas - Baylor women's tennis players Zuzana Zemenova and Taylor Ormond, along with head coach Joey Scrivano, earned Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Southwest Region awards the ITA announced recently. The national award winners will be announced on May 20.

Zemenova, a three-time All-American, was named the ITA Southwest Region Senior Player of the Year. The Kosice, Slovakia native is the second Baylor player to earn the Senior Player of the Year honor. In 2001, Jahnavi Parekh was the recipient of the regional senior player of the year.

A freshman from Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, Ormond was named the ITA Southwest Region Player of the Year. Ormond is the fifth Baylor player to receive the award and the third in the last four years. Zemenova won the same award in 2005, while Lenka Broosova won the award in 2007.

Scrivano earns the ITA Southwest Region Coach of the Year award for the second time, also winning the award in 2006. Dave Luedtke won the award three times from 1996 to 2000 as the only other Baylor coach to be honored by the ITA.

Baylor returns to action on Thursday as the fifth-seeded Lady Bears face 12th-seeded Miami at 9 a.m. in the Round of 16 at the 2008 NCAA Women's Tennis Championships from the Michael D. Case Tennis Center in Tulsa, Okla.



Online Store