Skip to main content Skip to footer
Burgic, Sanford Garner ITA Regional Awards

Jordaan Sanford

May 14, 2013

Complete List of ITA Award Winners

WACO, Texas - Baylor women's tennis players Ema Burgic and Jordaan Sanford were recognized by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association with Texas Region awards on Tuesday.

Burgic was named the Player to Watch, while Sanford earned the Cissie Leary Award for Sportsmanship.

In 2013, Burgic holds a 25-5 dual-match record and has won 17 straight matches with all of those contests coming at the No. 1 spot. Overall, Burgic is 42-8 on the season and 24-6 against ranked opponents. That win total is the fourth-most in BU history. The 10th-ranked Lukavac, Bosnia & Herzegovina, product was named the Big 12 Player of the Year last week.

Burgic is Baylor's third ITA Region Player to Watch recipient, joining Carolin Walter (2004) and Zuzana Cerana (2006).

Sanford, who last week garnered All-Big 12 singles honors. This season, she has a 13-8 dual-match record. Over her last 10 matches, the Diamond Bar, Calif., native is 8-2, including five straight wins. Overall, she is 17-11 on the season.

Sanford is the fifth BU player to win the sportsmanship honor and the first since Zuzana Cerna in 2007. Other Lady Bears to be honored with the award are Claudia Aguilar (2000), Karin Andersson (2001) and Zuzana Krchnakova (2006).

To stay up to date with the team all season follow @BaylorWTennis on Twitter.



Online Store